Fri 09 May, 2008

add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
As a follow-up to my previous post on Fluc comment spamming, check out the increasingly bizarre comments, including my exchange with Tim Davis, Fluc CEO.
Alex Eckelberry
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
Better off with a Win 2000 box
Windows Vista is better at protecting against malware than XP but more easily infected than Windows 2000, according to a study by Australian anti-virus firm PC Tools.…
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
"Please, don't update your account information", at least not on recently spammed phishing pages which will not only aim at obtaining your accounting data, but will also infect with you malware through exploiting MS06-014. These phishing emails are a great example of blended threats, and while we're been witnessing the ongoing consolidation between phishers, spammers and malware authors for the last two years, this particular phishing campaign looks like a lone gunman operation.Original message : "Dear valued skype member: It has come to our attention that your skype account informations needs to be updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service. However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension. Please update your records on or before May 11, 2008. you are requested to update your account informations at the following link. To update your informations."
Phishing URL : alertskype.freehostia.com, which is then forwarding to skypealert.ns8-wistee.fr/Secure.skype.com/store/member/login.html/Login.aspx/index/Skype.Members/index.htmls/ where the malware and the exploit are hosted.
Scanners result : Result: 3/31 (9.68%)
VBS/Small.W.1; Exploit-MS06-014
File size: 13569 bytes
MD5...: 4d6a559adf0602f7fd58b884e00894dc
SHA1..: 056f75e0dd94d03daeb04ae83d1b4a1b7476c0f2
SHA256: 3f08427228489edffd57e927db571aea06716c192ec72f91ea8115c0c7f978eb
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
Several comments have been posted to my blog recently about a malvertizement problem at mininova.org:
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/03/23/1550824.aspx#1601871
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/03/23/1550824.aspx#1602159
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/03/23/1550824.aspx#1614547
Anyway, I went looking and found a thread that claimed the malvertizements had been identified and removed on 5 May so I didn't take things any further (a decision which may have been a mistake)
http://forum.mininova.org/index.php?showtopic=235009007
Kimberley has now identified a malvertizement on mininova.org, again hosted by Akamai:
http://www.bluetack.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=18064&st=60&gopid=87201&
The domains being used by the malvertizers are:
adoptserver.info
iexplorer-security.org
mystats.com
fastwebway.com
xponlinescanner.com
The malvertizement has been reported to Akamai.
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
Once again, communication and cooperation between anti-malvertizement activists around the world has resulted in success.
We have found the malicious malvertizements on photobucket.com - Kimberley has the details.
The incident has been reported to Photobucket. The malvertizements themselves are not new. Speedstick and TokyoDrift have been featured on this blog several times. As noted by Kimberley, the malicious domains being used by the cretins behind the malvertizements are:
atlas-ads.com (host of a malicious SWF)
track.trackads.net
tds.maxconvert.com
adtds.trackads.net
spywaredestructor.com
adoptserver.info
iexplorer-security.org
fastwebway.com
xponlinescanner.com
photobkt-images.adbureau.net (host of a malicious SWF)
adbureau.net is Akamai - the incident has been reported.
Atlas-ads.com is registered via Estdomains, created on 10 April 2008.
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furlThu 08 May, 2008

Join the ranks
Belgium and India have joined the growing ranks of countries voicing concerns about cyber attacks originating from China. Earlier this week, officials from both countries said computer networks inside their borders are routinely targeted by hackers trying to ferret information that could benefit the Chinese government.…
add to del.icio.us. look up in del.icio.us.
add to furl

